If you are considering getting a divorce in Tennessee, you probably have questions. How long does it take? How much does it cost? How are assets and property divided? And the list goes on and on.
These questions are not unique and most people that are looking to divorce have questions in common. Here are some of the most important questions people ask and the answers you may need.
Who will divide your property?
The most efficient way to divide property in a divorce is for the spouses to come to an agreement on their own. Tennessee follows an “equitable distribution” method of dividing the marital assets, so a court will try to decide what’s fairest to both parties if they have to make the decision. Most couples prefer to negotiate their own split, with or without the help of mediation.
Does one spouse have to shoulder the blame for the divorce?
No. In Tennessee both fault and no-fault divorces are possible. You can divorce simply because you and your spouse have irreconcilable differences.
What if my spouse begins to waste assets in preparation for divorce?
The court system looks upon this type of activity very unfavorably. This is legally called the “dissipation of assets.” If one spouse began to excessively spend money or improperly use it for things like gambling, then they could be given less in the marital split or required to repay the other spouse.
How long does it take to get a divorce in Tennessee?
If the married couple has children, there is a 90-day waiting period from the date of filing before the divorce can be finalized. If the divorcing couple does not have children, the waiting period is a mere 60 days.
To bring clarity to any remaining questions, legal counsel that is experienced in family law and divorce helps lead you in the right direction.